The Alberta Beekeepers Commission currently operates six committees. These small working groups, made up of one or more members of our Board of Directors as well as Staff, handle important functional areas as well as partner and industry relations. If you have a question or input about any of these five areas, please contact the relevant staff member.

CommitteeBoard MemberStaffDescription
Governance and Finance CommitteeJeremy Olthof, Curtis Miedema, Lorne PrinsConnie PhillipsThe governance and Finance Committee is responsible for all aspects of board governance, training, succession planning for the board and Executive Director. Policy manual and regulatory review as well as the annual performance review of the Executive Director. The Governance and Finance Committee provides accountability to Alberta Beekeepers Commission’s Eligible Producers through monitoring the administration and program expenditures and reviewing the governance activities of the Board.
Government & Industry Affairs CommitteeBill Termeer, Ron Greidanus, Lorne PrinsConnie Phillips, Aaron TomaThe Government and Industry Affairs Committee is responsible for promoting and advocating for beekeepers and honey processor’s interests at the local, provincial and national levels. The Committee supports Alberta Beekeepers Commission’s in advising governments on ABC’s strategic priorities, resolutions and other matters impacting the success of the industry.
Market Development, Promotion and EducationRyan Hicks, Bill Termeer, Bevan FordConnie Phillips, Jules HamMaintain existing honey, bee stock and pollination markets and increase the demand for honey. Identify and promote market opportunities and new uses for honey. Expand awareness of agriculture, beekeeping, pollination and honey and its role in society.
Producer Relations & ExtensionRyan Hicks, Curtis Miedema, Jeremy OlthofJules Ham,Connie Phillips, Renata Borba, Aaron TomaThe Alberta Beekeepers Commission are committed to providing access to Regulatory, Marketing and Management information and programs that will help all Alberta Beekeepers increase their long-term sustainability (economic, social and environment). Alberta Beekeepers Commission has a comprehensive program to engage beekeepers through strategic communications and valuable learning opportunities. (tech team, Bee News, other Social Media…) along with event planning and sponsorships. The Committee is also committed to ensuring that Eligible Producers, the agriculture industry and partners are informed of Alberta Beekeepers Commission’s goals, objectives and activities.
Tech Team Steering CommitteeGrace Strom, Jeremy Olthof, Kevin Nixon, James Morton, Shelley Hoover, Steve PernalConnie Phillips, Renata BorbaThe Tech Team Steering Committee is responsible for the business issues associated with the Tech Team initiative that are essential to the ensuring the delivery of the program outputs and the attainment of program outcomes. This includes oversight of the budgetary strategy as outlined in the CAP proposal and grant agreement, defining scope and focus, monitoring risks, quality and timelines, making policy and resourcing decisions, and assessing requests for changes to the scope of the project.
Research and Projects CommitteeGrace Strom, Jeremy Olthof, Rene Larocque, Curtis MiedemaConnie Phillips, Renata BorbaThe Research and Projects Committee provides guidance to the Commission for research and project related activities. This includes meeting Alberta Beekeepers Commission’s vision and as identified in the Strategic Plan and by Resolutions approved at the AGM. The Committee directs research funding through a number of national and provincial partnerships that allow them to achieve their goals while getting the best leverage of Producer dollars.