Alberta Beekeepers Commission has served the interests of Alberta beekeepers since 1933.

Healthy bees, innovative producers and one super food.

Today, Alberta’s commercial honey producers manage 25 billion bees, representing nearly 300,000 colonies, to produce more than 40 million pounds of pure honey each year. That makes Alberta the #1 honey producer in Canada.

Alberta Beekeepers Commission has served the interests of Alberta beekeepers since 1933. Today, we support our 175 producers, work with industry and other partners to innovate and grow, and fund research to keep our bees healthy and our industry sustainable.

Read on to learn more about our producers and their bees, our work and of course, pure and natural Alberta honey.

Our Vision

We envision a vibrant, healthy, and growing Alberta beekeeping industry.  We will achieve this through:  Innovation, Education, Collaboration, and Research.

Our Mission

To develop and implement initiatives, and provide tools supporting Alberta Beekeepers, which improve the health of honeybee colonies, promote the quality of our products and services, and expand partnerships, markets and opportunities.


ABC Strategic Plan 2019 – 2025

2019 Board of Directors

These 10 Alberta beekeepers have been chosen by producers to direct and oversee the work of the Alberta Beekeepers Commission.


Jeremy Olthof

Tees AB T0C 2N0
T 403 872 4607

Curtis Miedema
Vice President

Box 39 site 11 RR#1
Barrhead AB T7N 1N2
T 780.206.4483

Mike DeJong
Past President

PO Box 323
Hay Lakes, AB T0B 1W0

Nico Molenkamp
North East Central Region

52221 RR 213
Sherwood Park AB T8G 1B6
C 780.907.6426

Terry Greidanus
CHC Director

PO Box 126
Cayley AB T0L 0P0
T 403.652.2608

Bill Termeer
Peace Region

RR2 Box 9 Site 13
Sexsmith AB T0H 3C0
T 780.568.3420

Grace Strom
South Region

PO Box 5504
High River AB / T1V 1M6
T 403.422.0712

Rene Larocque
North West Region

RR1 Busby, AB T0G 0H0
T 780.818.4268

Bevan Ford
Director at Large

RR1 Irma, AB T0B 2H0
T 780.806.1310

Ryan Hicks
Director at Large

Box 625
McLennan, AB T0H 2L0
T 780.837.0648

Neil Specht
CHC Delegate

PO Box 155
Eatonia, SK S0L 0Y0
C 306.967.2540

Meet Our Staff

These professionals carry out the day-to-day operations of the Alberta Beekeepers Commission, under the direction and oversight of the Board of Directors.


Connie Phillips
Executive Director

#102, 11434-168 Street Edmonton, AB T5M 3T9
C 780.289.5604

Jules Ham
Office Manager

#102, 11434-168 Street Edmonton, AB T5M 3T9
T 780.489.6949

Jordan Willi
Program Support

#102, 11434-168 Street Edmonton, AB T5M 3T9
T 780.489.6949


Serving the interests of the Beekeepers of Alberta since 1933.